To top
29 Aug

Black Coffee, Mandisi Dyantis & More Win SAMAs

It was a night of glitz and glamour at the 28th annual South African Music Awards in Sun City as local celebrities were dressed to kill at Mzansi’s biggest music night, hosted by Lawrence Maleka and Nandi Madida. Comedian Mpho Popps and internet sensations Robot Boii as well as Alphi Mkhwanazi were also hosts while 5FM’s Zanele Potelwa was the official red carpet host.

Lawrence Maleka & Nandi Madida

Producer and DJ, Chymamusique emerged victorious as he took home awards in the hotly contested categories of Male Artist of the Year and Album of the Year for Musique, which brought his tally to three after he also won Best Dance Album when the awards kicked off on Saturday.

Zakes Bantwini and Kasango went home with two trophies for SAMRO’s Highest Radio Airplay Composers Award and Best Collaboration for their hit song Osama.

Zakes Bantwini & Kasango

We also saw sizzling performances from the likes of Nomfundo Moh, Lloyiso, A-Reece, Makhadzi and Msaki among others. Haksul Muziq stunned viewers when he was announced as SAMPRA Artist of the Year, beating formidable competition in that category.

Makhadzi’s popular song Ghanama featuring Prince Benza won the TECNO Music Video of the Year award, while Vula Mlomo by Musa Keys was voted TECNO Record of the Year.


To keep up with the times and following a two-year hiatus as they had previously been held virtually; the SAMAs added a new catergoy – the Tik Tok Viral Song of the Year and the award went to 9umba, Mdoovar and Toss.

Other notable winners were Khanyisile Mthetwa who took home Best Classical Album and White Star Newcomer of the Year for African Bird. Blxckie won Best Hip Hop Album for B4Now and Reece Madlisa and Zuma’s Ama Roto Vol.2 scored the Duo/Group of the Year song and also triumphed on the first night, winning in the Best Kwaito Album category.

What’s a SAMA celebration without honouring the legends? Jimmy Dludlu, Joe Nina and McCoy Mrubata were presented with the Lifetime Achievement awards for their exceptional bodies of work throughout their careers and for their exceptional contribution to the industry.

Globe-trotting and Grammy award-winning DJ and Producer, Black Coffee was honoured with the International Achiever Award for his musical contributions which have extended far beyond South African borders. Black Coffee has worked with the likes of Drake, Sabrina Claudio, David Guetta and Cassie.

Mpho Popps

Here’s a list of the winners!

  • SAMPRA Artist of the Year: Haksul Muziq
  • Tecno Record of the Year: Musa Keys featuring Sir Trill and Nobantu Vilakazi – Vula Mlomo
  • Tecno Music Video of the Year: Makhadi featuring Prince Benza – Ghanama
  • Album of the Year: Chymamusique – Musique
  • Female Artist of the Year: Msaki – Platinumb Heart Beating
  • Male Artist of the Year: Chymamusique – Musique
  • Newcomer of the Year: Khanyisile Mthethwa – African Bird
  • TikTok Viral Song of the Year: 9Umba, Toss and Mdoovar – Umlando
  • Best Duo/Group of the Year: Ama Roto (Reece Madlisa and Zuma)
  • Best Amapiano Album: Young Stunna – Notumato
  • Best Rock Album: Springbok Nude Girls – Partypocalypse
  • Best Pop Album: Shekhinah – Trouble In Paradise
  • Beste Pop Album: Posduif – Niks Vergelyk
  • Best Adult Contemporary Album: Msaki – Platinumb Heart Open
  • Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album: Die Heuwels Fantasties – Volume
  • Best African Adult Contemporary Album: Mandisi Dyantyis: Cwaka
  • Best Alternative Album: Alice Phoebe Lou –  Glow
  • Best R&B/Soul Album: Brain Temba – It’s All You
  • Best Hip-Hop Album: Blxckie – B4Now
Anele Zondo
Lady X
Boity & Anton Jafta
No Comments

Leave a reply