To top
14 Oct

Birth Of Stars Takes Lead At This Year’s Feather Awards

Mzansi gear up and clear up your calender, the highly anticipated Feather Awards are back again this year.

The nominees of the popular awards have been announced and new age stars Kamo, Kagiso and Coachella Randy are leading the pack at this year’s awards with three nominations for the popular reality show Birth of Stars.

According to the organisers of the awards, the popular event ceremony is returning to Market Theatre and set to take place early next month. 

They further revealed that each category nominees compromises of individuals and organisations from both the private and business sectors and are selected by a knowledgeable panel consisting of members of the media and entertainment industry, who are firmly in touch with what’s hot and what’s not on the South African social circuit.

They also added that each nominated individual, organisation or brand, have in one way or the other either represented, inspired, or celebrated the LGBTIQ+ community with excellence and distinction over the past twelve months.

Speaking to Nounouche, co-founder of the Feather Awards, Thami Kotlolo said there’s a lot of work that still needs to be done in the queer community. 

“COVID-19 slowed down the process and now it’s time to accelerate the transformation and get back on track. And it’s going to take all of us to do it. From the public sector and the private sector, government and businesses need to put their money where their mouths are,” he said. 

“Inclusivity is not about celebrating the community for a few days in a year. Government and corporates need to support the community, get involved in programmes and initiatives 365 days of the year, not just in June or October when the exercise of ticking boxes needs to happens.”

“We, the queer community, are unfvckenapologetic about being heard, being seen, being recognised and been included. This doesn’t take away from organisations who offer unwavering support for the community. We see you and value your support. To all the nominees best of luck for the upcoming awards next month, ” he concluded. 


Best Styled Individual 

1. Nkuley Masemola

2. Bradley Ndlovu

3. Ponahalo Mojapelo

Hunk of the Year 

1. Shahaan Ramkisoon

2. Senzo Radebe

3. Anton Jeftha

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

1. Yvonne Chaka-Chaka

2. Abigail Khubeka

3. John Kani

Sports Personality of the Year

1. Kgothatso Monjane

2. Banyana Banyana

3. Andile Dlamini

Role model of the Year

1. Banyana Banyana

2. Kass Naidoo

3. FEW

Cutest Couple

1. Koleka Putuma and Robyn

2. Lamiez Holworthy and Khuli Chana

3. Boity Thulo and Anton Jefta

Hot Chick of the Year

1.Rose-Mary Zimu

2. Nkuley Masemola

3. Nambitha Ben-Mazwi

Media Award of the Year. 

1. YFM



Fag hag of the Year 

1. Candice Modiselle

2. Judy Nokwedi

3. Vuyo Mse-Ngcukana

Designer of the Year (new category)

1. Sello Medupi for Scalo

2. Palesa Mokobung

3. Donald Nxumalo


1. Musa Keys

2. Zakes Bantwini

3. Msaki

Socialite (Seen at every opening of an envelope or an erection of a stop sign)

1. Birth of Stars

2. Tumi Powerhouse

3. Rami Chuene

Drama Queen

1. Thato (RHOCT)

2. SK Khoza

3. Professor Mokgethi

Social Media Personality of the Year  

1. Birth of Stars

2. Tumi Powerhouse 

3. Khanyisa Unflitered

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Private Sector 

1. Jagermeister

2. roctor and Gamble

3. Meta SA

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Public Sector 

1. Department of Social Development

2. SAPS Sophiatown


Best LGBTIQ Youth Movement 

1. Active Wits

2. Vogue Nights

3. Impulse

Best Rainbow Parenting 

1. Shumi Dantile 

2. Treyvonne Moo (House of Diamonds)

3. Buhle and Botshelo


Leave a reply